Book Review: “Into Dark Waters” by Rebecca Reilly

About The Authorrebecca

Rebecca Reilly is a pastor and has been working in ministry for over thirty years. A wife and mother of two and grandmother of one, Rebecca enjoys hiking, jogging, and taking cruises. When she’s in her Northern California home, she works as a pastor of student ministries, a massage therapist, a health coach, and a writer. Rebecca enjoys writing mysteries (Into Dark Waters and Haunting Megan), but has also written humor (Diary of a Christian Woman: How I Used 50 Shades of Grey to Spice Up My Marriage), a children’s chapter book (The Geek Club), and two picture books (Heart of a Kitty and Jammers and His Flying Bed Adventure). Right now, Rebecca is working on follow- up novels in all four genres.

Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads
Rebecca’s Website

About The Book

idwA cruise ship is an easy place to commit murder. Body disposal’s a cinch, and suicide’s the likely verdict. The only problem is determining how to choose the next victim.

Sad and sexy, women find Detective Jim Tanger attractive. He doesn’t care. His wife’s suicide three years ago froze his soul. When Jim hears that Sunburst Cruises has lost another young female passenger to an assumed suicide, Jim’s passions erupt. He pushes the department and the cruise line into letting him investigate. Battling seasickness and overwhelming shyness, Jim must protect the women and find the killer only he believes exists.

Julie Cooper loves her husband Joel. She hopes their anniversary cruise to Hawaii will be a new beginning for them. Before her suitcases are unpacked, someone unleashes a campaign of terror against her. Anonymous threats, cryptic messages in her cabin, and an attempt on her life force Julie to look at the one person who might want her dead; the one person she trusted with her life.

My Review

Kept Me Guessing

It’s not often where I don’t guess who done it before it’s reveal but this one fooled me. Lots of twists and turns lead me around like a puppet on a string from one red herring to another.

I thought the main character, Julia, at least in the beginning, was too good but it turned out that she had a fatal flaw in that she trusted too much, and she trusted the wrong people. Evil lurked and it touched her, touched her in ways I don’t believe she will ever forget.

Jim wanted to protect Julia from her life and from those who would harm her. From the beginning he was attacked to her.

This was an exciting mystery. I knew the author had been on a cruise when I read the details of the ship and the excursions. Great detail, characterization, and plotting. I enjoyed this book and will read more books by Ms. Reilly. I would love to see a sequel which I believe is entirely doable.

Purchase Into Dark Waters

Next Eight books and short stories on my review list are:
Sharpe Shooter (Cozy Suburb Mystery Series) by Lisa B. Thomas (just finished)
Mercy’s Prince (He Who Finds Mercy, #1) by Katy Huth Jones
Legend of the Walking Dead by Joy Nwosu Lo-Bamijoko
The Carnelian (The Gemstone Chronicles, Book 1) by William Stuart
The Budapest Experiment: An International Thriller by Maurice G. Miller
Seeker (Seeker Series, Book 1) by Amy Reece
Dangerous Liaisons by Sara Steward
Destiny (Absent Shadows Trilogy Book 1) by S. M. Spencer

Advertisement

Review of “For The Sake of a Child” by Stevie Turner

About The Author

I began my writing career as far back as 1969, when I won an inter-schools’ writing competition after submitting a well-thumbed and hastily scribbled essay entitled ‘My Pet’. A love of words and writing short stories and poems has carried on all throughout my life, but it is only now in middle age that I’ve started writing novels full-time and taking this author business seriously.

My latest and ninth book ‘Revenge’ was published on July 20th 2015, and I am now working on a 10th book. My novels are realistic, but tend to shy away from the mainstream somewhat and focus on the darker side of relationships. However, you’ll find I do like to add in a little bit of humour along the way. My characters tend not to be young and ruled by their loins; in this way I can develop an interesting story around them that doesn’t have to be constantly interrupted by yet another earth-shattering orgasm.

Readers do not seem to be suffering unduly from my characters’ shortage of climaxes. In January 2015 my third novel ‘A House Without Windows’ won the Goodreads’ eBookMiner Book of the Month Competition, and has been chosen as a medal winner in the New Apple Book Awards 2014 Suspense/Thriller category. Also in 2014 it earned a 5-star seal of approval from Nonnie Jules’ Rave Reviews Book Club, and also a Readers’ Favorite 5 star seal.

So here I am in the late summer of my life, and the words are tumbling out of my head. Living for more than a few years has given me plenty of subject matter to write about, and I look forward to sharing quite a lot of it with you.

I hope you enjoy checking out my books.

Regards, Stevie. x

About The Book

Ginny Ford is pleased to win the coveted job of housekeeper to the directors of PhizzFace Inc. However, her joy becomes tarnished by an accidental find whilst cleaning, leading her to suspect that all is not as it should be on the managerial corridor. Delving deeper, she is shocked to uncover corruption and a secret pedophile network that has remained hidden for years, involving the very people she has come to know and trust. Unable to live with her conscience any more, she decides that she cannot keep quiet and that she must find a way of helping all the children involved. However, by trying to help the children she discovers that she has unwittingly put her entire family at risk…..

My Review

Engaging Dialogue and Characters

Child abuse is a sensitive subject which the author handles with great care. I felt the characters were believable and riddled with human faults. The story is well-written with engaging dialogue and characters.

As the story unfolds, the main characters have to make difficult choices. They made a decision they felt was their only available option at the time. Many may disagree with their choices. Fear landed them there, but fear brought them out to the point where they needed to be. The last fear wasn’t for themselves or their own family but for a small, frightened child. It drove them to do what was right no matter the cost.

I look forward to reading more from this author.

Purchase this book here: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00NK0MGTA/

Next Five books and short stories on my reading list are:

The Ruins on Stone Hill (Heroes of Ravenford Book 1) by F. P. Spirit

Finding Kate by Harmony Kent

Observant Oracle – Lottie Baldwin-Mystery #2 by Elizabeth Delisi

Mateguas Island: A Novel of Terror and Suspense by Linda Watkins

Luck of the Irish by Liz Gavin

REVIEW: “DEADLY SECRETS” BY GORDON BICKERSTAFF

About The Author

Gordon Bickerstaff was born and raised in Glasgow but spent his student years in Edinburgh. On summer vacations, he learned plumbing, garden maintenance, and he cut the grass in the Meadows.

He learned some biochemistry and taught it for a while before he retired to write fiction. He does some aspects of DIY moderately well and other aspects not so well. He gets very tired when it’s time to clean up the mess.

He lives with his wife in the west of Scotland where corrupt academics, mystery, murder and intrigue exists mostly in his mind. He is the author of the Gavin Shawlens series of thrillers: Deadly Secrets, Everything To Lose, and The Black Fox.

He enjoys walking, 60s & 70s music, reading and travel.

Visit Gordon at the following locations
Website
Twitter
Goodreads

About The Book

Gavin Shawlens is a top research biochemist. But his life is about to be turned upside down when he agrees to work on a new process that will revolutionise the food industry.

A secret cult led by a ruthless billionaire is determined to steal the process and reap the rewards.

Against overwhelming odds, Gavin must protect the process owner, Emma Patersun, from the evil cult – Gyge’s Ring.

DEADLY SECRETS is a medical thriller with unusual twists and is perfect for fans of Ken McClure and Robert Harris.

My Review

Excellent Thriller With A Punch!!!

This is a fast-paced modern day thriller. Just when you think everyone is safe, something terrifying happens and their lives are in danger again.

Mr. Bickerstaff has written an excellent and complex plot that will keep you guessing as it twists and turns. His style reminded me of one of my favorite authors, Sidney Sheldon because of the book’s
complexity.The author wrapped it up expertly while at the same time setting up the next book in the trilogy.

“Deadly Secrets” is a well-written novel with vivid details and exciting characters that are sure to appeal to all lovers of thrillers and suspense. I can hardly wait to read the next two books in this trilogy.

GordonBickerstaff-1500w

Next Five books and short stories on my reading list are:
What’s In A Name? Tales from the Lost Horizon by Michael Eging
For The Sake of a Child by Stevie Turner
The Ruins on Stone Hill (Heroes of Ravenford Book 1) by F. P. Spirit
Finding Kate by Harmony Kent
Observant Oracle – Lottie Baldwin-Mystery #2 by Elizabeth Delisi