WHAT MAKES BAD WRITING BAD

K. D. Dowdall

virginia-woolf

Virginia Woolf: “The psychic risk of a novel such as Woolf’s The Waves is vast – particularly for someone for whom psychic risk was so potentially debilitating.”  This article is Written by Toby Litt who is a London-based writer. Hospital, his latest novel, is published by Hamish Hamilton. ( A reblog from 2015)

Bad writing is mainly boring writing. It can be boring because it is too confused or too logical, or boring because it is hysterical or lethargic, or boring because nothing really happens. If I give you a 400 page manuscript of an unpublished novel – something that I consider to be badly written – you may read it to the end, but you will suffer as you do.

It’s possible that you’ve never had to read 80,000 words of bad writing. The friend of a friend’s novel. I have. On numerous occasions. If you ask…

View original post 1,000 more words

2 thoughts on “WHAT MAKES BAD WRITING BAD

  1. Thank you for reblogging this interesting post and for spreading the word about many aspects of the writer who has a difficult time (all of us) “killing our darlings” which means of course, editing, rewriting, and overwriting! I have now learned to put my newest novel aside for weeks and then come back and read it like a Beta reader and that helps a lot. By the way, I love, love, the mystery, paranormal, and romance genres, especially when all combined into a special genre – my favorite! I must read your books. Haunted Hearts sounds wonderful. K. D. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, K. D. for stopping by and leaving such a nice comment. I’m so happy to hear you enjoy the information I find and share. I wish you much luck with your writing.

      I hope you enjoy my books if you get a chance to read them. Happy writing and reading! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

