What Does a Copy Editor Do? And Do I Need An Editor?

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

In writing forums, I’ve seen many writers ask questions like:

What does a copyeditor do?

What is the difference between copyediting and proofreading?

Do I really need an editor for my novel or story?

My first two novels were traditionally published, and they were both taken through the usual two rounds of editing: developmental edits (aka story edits) and copy edits (or line edits… some people distinguish between the two terms, and others, like me, are philistines who use them interchangeably.)

A while back when I was reviewing self-publishing costs, I noted that while it’s ideal to have both a developmental editor and a copy editor, the copy editor is the one place I wouldn’t skimp.

There are many indie authors who don’t use editors. Even though I have strong opinions about self-publishing, which is clear from the linked post, I do realize that what other writers do is none…

View original post 82 more words

Leave a Reply

