How to Write a Biography Your Readers Will Love

The Long and Short Stories of Life

Category for a bookstore or library. Bookshelves  "Biographies & Memoirs".

So you’re writing a biography. Why? Ohhh, because your subject is interesting. She was a pioneer at what she did and her story deserves to be told. Sorry, that doesn’t make her interesting to me? I hope your subject struggled to be who she was. I hope she battled herself and the disbelieving, disapproving world to reach her heights!

Is her story set in a time when it was daring to do what she did? Were her conflicts man against man, man against nature, man against himself? Yes, this holds true for biographies as well as it does for fiction.

I wrote a short piece of entertainment about my own grandmother Aspiring to the Possibilities and people enjoyed reading it, however I wouldn’t say it was compelling reading.

My grandmother was something of a local celebrity in the circles in which she traveled, but her city, and the world at large, hardly knew who Dorothy Johnson was. I’d…

View original post 387 more words

Leave a Reply

