How To Survive Making Your Characters Suffer #SundayBlogShare #AmWriting

BlondeWriteMore

how-to-not-feel-2

Have you ever had to inflict pain and suffering onto a character who you like….a lot?

Have you ever tipped a bucket full of ‘life hell’ over your character and whilst you were doing it felt like you were betraying an old friend?

This week I have struggled with making one of my characters suffer. As you know I am close to finishing the second draft of my romance novel and everything was fine until I had to write the twist at the end. I wanted to shake things up a bit for my reader and not let them think the romance was going to run smoothly. Plus and more importantly this particular character needed to understand the consequences of his past actions.

The twist involved putting this main character through hell and it broke me! I was an emotional mess – sobbing at the laptop, touching the screen whilst…

View original post 535 more words

Leave a Reply

