What’s in a #review? What do readers actually expect from a book? (I don’t have an answer, it’s only a philosophical question).

Lit World Interviews

Hi all:

As I know is the case with many of you, I’m a writer. Before I was a writer, I was a reader and I’ll remain a reader (hopefully I’ll remain a writer too, but perhaps I will stop publishing at some point. No matter). If you write reviews (I do), I imagine you might have all been surprised at times when checking other people’s reviews on books you’d read because they were the complete opposite to yours. Of course, personal taste and subjectivity come into it. I, for instance, am not a big lover of lengthy descriptions (although I can admire them if very well written, particularly if the genre calls for it), and I do not like a lot of background story (but sometimes it works). The best books for me, are those that can make me enjoy things that perhaps I wouldn’t choose, and also those…

View original post 1,681 more words

2 thoughts on “What’s in a #review? What do readers actually expect from a book? (I don’t have an answer, it’s only a philosophical question).

Leave a Reply

