Crafting An Authentic Beginning

A Writer's Path

shield-417824_640

by Andrea Lundgren

As a book reviewer, I read a lot of first chapters and beginnings to judge whether I want to review a book. Instead of being moved by the cover or hype from other readers, I usually have only the blurb and the words themselves to guide me (I often haven’t even seen the cover until afterwards).

And I’ve come to the conclusion that a book doesn’t have to be flashy to “hook” me. It doesn’t have to start with a bang, and even that much-discussed opening sentence or paragraph doesn’t have to be artistic, original, awe-inspiring, or amazing.

View original post 354 more words

Leave a Reply

